Museum Home Page

Contact Us

Art Center Home Page

____Monte Toon

Historical Research Center

Kansas Celebrity Hall of Fame


Gift Shop

Index of site by category

Independence Historical Museum & Art Center 8th and Myrtle
PO Box 294
Independence, KS 67301


10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
--Tues - Sat
Closed Sunday and Monday

Admission Fee
$5.00 Adults
$3.00 Ages 6-18
Free - Ages 5 & Under
Free Active Military

Holiday Hours

Closed on major holidays


61st Annual Verdigris Valley Art Exhibit

Call for Entries

July 7 - 26

The 2014 VVAE has been Dedicated to Artist Sharon Viets. The Museum President - Ray Rothgeb gave a short introduction at the beginning of the Awards night.

Independence, Kansas: The Independence Historical Museum and Art Center is proud to announce that the 61st Annual Verdigris Valley Art Exhibit was held during the Independence Astra Arts Festival. The Verdigris Valley Art Exhibit will be open to the public during the festival and afterwards until July 26, 2014. The exhibit will include only two dimensional works. Awards will be given in painting, drawing, watercolor, printmaking, and mixed media. Cash will be awarded for Best of Show, First and Second places as deemed appropriate by the juror. Honorable mention will be award when merited.

Louise Woodward, VVAE Chairperson, introduced the Judge for the night.

Juror for the show was Professor Dan Kirchhefer from Emporia State University. Professor Kirchhefer earned his BFA at the University of Nebraska, Lincoln; a MA at the University of Cincinnati, in Cincinnati, Ohio; and a MFA at the University of Kansas, Lawrence. He has received honors in various two-dimensional categories including the National Watercolor Honor Society in 2012. Kirchhefer is currently professor of Drawing and Printmaking at Emporia State University, Emporia, Kansas; and has served as an Assistant Curator of Prints, Drawings and Photographs at Spencer Art Museum, University of Kansas, Lawrence. The judge presented the awards Monday - July 7, 2014 at 7PM.

Best of Show was given to Steven Greenwall for his watercolor: "Deer Creek Bank"

First Place Winners: Skip Kreibach for his Acrylic: "Sharing The Light". Steve Greenwall for his Drawing: "Wooded Slope". Monty Toon for his Watercolor: "Monday". Anita Wilson for her Mixed Media: "Over the Hill".

Second Place Winners: Mark Johnson for his Oil: "Face Off". Anita Wilson for her Drawing: "Sunlight and Sumac". Catherine Neal for her Watercolor: "Gallo Del Cielio". Catherine Neal for her Mixed Media: "Autumn Woodland Faery".

The People's Choice Winner was Jessica Holeman.

There were numerious Honorable Mentions.

For more VVAE information: Call 620-331-3515